Although drivers might not plan on driving while intoxicated, unfortunately, many people find themselves facing DWI charges.
Whether or not a driver realized they were impaired, they can face drunk driving charges if they operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or higher.
Signs of an impaired driver
If law enforcement officers think that a driver may be impaired, they will pull the vehicle over and ask the driver to take a field-test, breathalyzer test or both.
Law enforcement may look for signs of an impaired driver, which can include:
- Accelerating or decelerating abruptly
- Sporadic braking without cause
- Failure to use turn signals
- Driving after dark without using the headlights
Be ready to hand over your driver’s license, proof of insurance and vehicle registration information, if stopped on suspicion of DWI.
You should know that if you refuse to take a blood or breath test, upon an officer’s request, you are subject to an automatic 180-day driver’s license suspension.
What are the consequences of a DWI?
Hopefully, you never operate a vehicle while impaired, yet it may be beneficial to understand the legal ramifications of a first-time DWI conviction in Texas:
- Up to $2,000 in fines
- Up to 180 days in jail
- Revocation of driver’s license for one year
- $1,000 to $2,000 annual fee for three years
In Texas, every 20 minutes, a person is injured or killed in an alcohol-involved accident. Of course, the best way to prevent a DWI is to refrain from driving after consuming alcohol. Use a ridesharing service, call a cab, find a sober ride or a place to stay when possible.